Remembering Our Past

In the summer of 1916, W. E. Ballenger of Hamburg, IL, And Thomas Smith of Bernard, MO., two very capable Gospel ministers held a six-week tent meeting in Jerseyville. At the close of this meeting, sixteen members banded themselves together to for the first congregation of disciples known as the church of Christ to be established in this city.

Henry C. Dunham was chosen to help lead this congregation, and they met in the Redlick Hall each Lord's Day for worship services. In 1920 this congregation purchased a small dwelling house on the corner of Lafayette and Prairie, which with some remodeling, provided a large room for the assembly and a smaller one for the children's class. The church met in this building for a number of years. During this time Brother Thomas J. Roady, a beloved, itinerant minister who lived in Kane, preached every third Sunday in the month. Serveral evangelists held protracted meetings at various times.

The congregation increased, but the building deteriorated, so for both reason it was deemed wise to tear down that building and erect a new one on the same site. While the new building was being constructed, the congregation met in a dwelling house on State Street which was owned by one of the members. The new building was completed and dedicated on March 23, 1941, and with further modernization in the 50's to accommodate more and larger classes, this was where the church met for several decades.

In 1970 a plot was purchased north of town, on then Route 267 (now US HWY 67), and plans were set in motion for erecting a large and more modern building. It was not until 1973 that the actual building began. Many men of the congregation were to thank for working with contractors to make the building a wonderful place to worship. Open house was held on September 1, 1974, and the congregation continues to meet here for four services each week.

Many ministers have served at the Jerseyville congregation including: L. C. Roberts, Lowell Manchester, Arthur Rowland, Arlan Campbell, Larry Palmer, Burl Price, Jack Phillips, Boyd Goodson, Stephen Fishel, Mark Turok, Arch Montgomery, Patrick Harper, Norm Fields, Scott Springer, David Turnmire and present minister Jake Medford.

Content from Arch Montgomery